Immy Chua

Just Being and Let things Happen….

Death Claim

8 Comments

About 2 months ago when I was in pain and couldn’t go to work and earn my income. I contacted my insurance to apply for my income protection claim. The gentleman over the phone asked if my cancer is terminal. I told him my oncologist said my cancer is incurable, so is it terminal? Then to my surprise he advised I should apply for Death Claim!

I was sad to hear this over the phone but then I told myself this is actually great for me as the death claim would help to lighten my financial burden so I could focusing on healing myself and love myself! How great is this? And who could actually eligible to claim this death claim when he or she still not dead yet! Then when I received the claim form, in order to meet the definition of Terminal Illness, my life expectancy should be less then 12 months! So, I get my oncologist to help with the medical claim form, she said for my case, the life expectancy of my bladder cancer is 18 to 24 months and I have ‘survived’ ( I don’t like the word survive because I am not surviving! I am living my life!) for 32 months and I should be able to meet the terminal illness definition as my ‘death sentence’ is overdue! I am very happy that my oncologist is helping me with the claim. As for me, I do not believe I have 12 months to live!

The only catch is I would not be able to be insured again as I have died once! But then, why should I need to be insured again? I am now waiting for my claim to be approved! Interesting!

As for my income protection claim, it has been approved and enough to cover my daily expenses so it all goes very well. For those of you who do not have income protection, I would suggest to look into it as income protection is to cover when you are total disable or partial disable not that you are jobless. Insurance is to protect your loved one and you.

Do not feel sad reading this post because I am lodging my death claim, the reason for my blog is to share my exciting cancer journey and this is just part of the exciting ONE!

Author: Immy Chua

A day after I turned 42, I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 4 bladder cancer….what a surprise birthday gift! 16 years ago on my birthday, my late brother was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away after 6 months of chemotherapy. My doctors told me they were unable to cure me….as my cancer is an aggressive type. The statistic with chemotherapy treatment is 45% in 5 years. I refused chemotherapy because of my brother. So, I asked if I don’t do anything, what would happen? My doctor told me….if I don’t do anything, after 3 months, my cancer will spread to every parts of my body. I told my doctor, 3 months, I still have plenty of time to find a solution. So..I rejected the death sentence and went searching for solution……..My cancer journey start ….. This blog is about my exciting cancer journey which helps me to discover and reassess my life, my relationship with my family, my so-called career goal, my diet, my view, my belief…..everything…..for the past 2 years… I wish it will help everyone to look at illness as a blessing and opportunity to heal rather than seeing yourself as a victim.

8 thoughts on “Death Claim

  1. Be strong always, my friend! That’s what this blog is meant to be, right? Cheers~ 😀

    • Thanks. You are right, this is what this blog is about! I just realized this post caused a lot concern from friends and readers, but if you read between the lines, I am perfectly ok and happy as I never believe what my oncologist told me if I am overdue! 32 months ago they told me I had max 24 months to live, if I believe then my body will start shutting down! They are not GOD to give me the death sentence! I am on the road to recovered, the death claim is to help ease my financial burden as when you are sick , the last thing you want to worry is $$$! I am now worries free and focusing on my healing…..heal from inside then the rest will follow….

      • We are shaped by our thoughts and you’re a concrete evident to this statement by being strong and still kicking at this moment, my friend!

        Take care and be well, always!

        Cheers~ 😀

      • I always believe I made myself sick rather than asking why me! This is a good opportunity for me to make myself well and happy! I had a Skype QiGong Consultation yesterday and the therapist told me I have anger and frustration need to resolve so that I can be completely heal. I started yesterday and to my surprise i have some miracle results! Thanks my friend, will keep you all posted and I am realistic because I believe in MIRACLE!

      • Wonderful!!!

        Do keep your lovely posts rolling in soon! We’ll be waiting!

        Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!!! 😀

      • Do have a wonderful weekend ahead! Cheers~ 😀

  2. Pingback: 2013 – Year of GAIN | Cancer is A Blessing and An Opportunity To Heal

Leave a Reply

