Immy Chua

Just Being and Let things Happen….

A Journey To……..HOME….

1 Comment

Flying above the South China Sea, listening to the romantic Chinese love songs while walking down the memory lane…….another 2 hours I will be home……the feeling, the excitement of being home has never been so strong ever…….I miss home! I can feel my tears……

I never miss home since 1986….the first time I left home….and went to Australia. Whenever people asked me if I miss home…..I said…..everywhere is my home as I never really have a permanent address which I could call home……I recalled when I was in China and needed to fill in my home address, My mind went blank……after that I decided to call Australia ‘home’!

After 10 years calling Aussie ‘home’……I had only been back to visit my family twice…once was my brother’s wedding and the other was I organized my 20 years high school reunion! Even before I was working in China, I went back to Malaysia was just on a ‘transit’…to other destinations….traveling to Europe, Russia, Scandinavia…..etc.never really stay long enough…to feel the love of ‘home’….

The past 2 years since 2010, I have been home at least 7 or 8 times…I have lost count….why? Because cancer bring me to my real ‘Home’….the ‘Home’ which I neglected for so many years….the love of my family and friends that I neglected for so many years…….now I am very proud and loud to tell the world ‘I miss home’!

A journey to HOME…..A journey to LOVE starts now high above the South China Sea….I have never been so excited, happy, joy…and emotion….with this trip….

Cancer brought me home….brought me closer to my family, my friends and most importantly brought me abundant of love to rediscover my true self and stopped living in denial…

I am so proud to introduce my home Alor Setar…..the place, the people, the culture, the love where I was nurtured and became who I am today!

30th Jan 2013 4.30am on the flight to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Author: Immy Chua

A day after I turned 42, I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 4 bladder cancer….what a surprise birthday gift! 16 years ago on my birthday, my late brother was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away after 6 months of chemotherapy. My doctors told me they were unable to cure me….as my cancer is an aggressive type. The statistic with chemotherapy treatment is 45% in 5 years. I refused chemotherapy because of my brother. So, I asked if I don’t do anything, what would happen? My doctor told me….if I don’t do anything, after 3 months, my cancer will spread to every parts of my body. I told my doctor, 3 months, I still have plenty of time to find a solution. So..I rejected the death sentence and went searching for solution……..My cancer journey start ….. This blog is about my exciting cancer journey which helps me to discover and reassess my life, my relationship with my family, my so-called career goal, my diet, my view, my belief…..everything…..for the past 2 years… I wish it will help everyone to look at illness as a blessing and opportunity to heal rather than seeing yourself as a victim.

One thought on “A Journey To……..HOME….

  1. Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, would you mind emailing me when you get a chance?

    Thanks,

    Cameron

    cameronvsj(at)gmail.com

Leave a Reply

