Immy Chua

Just Being and Let things Happen….

A Roadmap to Healing and Living….

5 Comments

It was a huge shock when you were told you have cancer….the fear, the why, the unknown….you were so sad and yet have to find a way to break the news to your loved one…all those questions, how, why ????

I never dream that I would have cancer because I was healthy and fit. I never try to understand cancer…guess because I was avoiding the C. This post is to share my experience with you on how to lay out a roadmap to healing and living with cancer.

Cancer is not like a heart attack…it just happens and you don’t have the time to make an informed decision with your treatment. As long as you control your emotion and your diet then you still have times to ‘shop’ for options.

From my experience, your oncologist will only suggest chemotherapy, surgery or radiotherapy because these are what they learnt.

The following are the questions you should ask your oncologist if they suggest you with either one of the above treatment:

Overall Survivor Rate –  Overall survival is a term that denotes the chances of staying alive for a group of individuals suffering from a cancer. It denotes the percentage of individuals in the group who are likely to be alive after a particular duration of time. At a basic level, the overall survival is representative of cure rates.

1. What is the overall survival rate if I have chemo/radio/surgery?

2. What was the statistic sample based on? My oncologist told me my bladder cancer statistic was based on Caucasian Male! Surprise!

3. What are the side effects? Chemo might increase the risk of heart disease!

Disease-Free Survival – In cancer, the length of time after primary treatment for a cancer ends that the patient survives without any signs or symptoms of that cancer. In a clinical trial, measuring the disease-free survival is one way to see how well a new treatment works.

1. What is the overall disease-free survival rate if I have chemo/radio/surgery?

2. What was the statistic sample based on?

3. What are the side effects?

Do Nothing!

1. What will happen to me?

Always seek second opinion and ask the same questions. When you have all the answers, write them all on  a big white board and discuss with your family and loved one.

Is survival good enough for you? or you want to be disease free? Can you cope with the side effects? How to cope with the side effects?

Do nothing and seek “alternative” treatment or Natural treatment like what I chose Gerson Therapy, but can you cope with Gerson?

All of these questions will help you lay out a roadmap to healing the cancer and living a life you chose. Take control of your life! Be a Smart “Patient”!

 

 

Author: Immy Chua

A day after I turned 42, I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 4 bladder cancer….what a surprise birthday gift! 16 years ago on my birthday, my late brother was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away after 6 months of chemotherapy. My doctors told me they were unable to cure me….as my cancer is an aggressive type. The statistic with chemotherapy treatment is 45% in 5 years. I refused chemotherapy because of my brother. So, I asked if I don’t do anything, what would happen? My doctor told me….if I don’t do anything, after 3 months, my cancer will spread to every parts of my body. I told my doctor, 3 months, I still have plenty of time to find a solution. So..I rejected the death sentence and went searching for solution……..My cancer journey start ….. This blog is about my exciting cancer journey which helps me to discover and reassess my life, my relationship with my family, my so-called career goal, my diet, my view, my belief…..everything…..for the past 2 years… I wish it will help everyone to look at illness as a blessing and opportunity to heal rather than seeing yourself as a victim.

5 thoughts on “A Roadmap to Healing and Living….

  1. I forgot to mention ONE very important thing….What sort of the Quality of Life you want if you choose a particular treament!

  2. My oncologist told me if I chose chemo I would not enjoy the quality of life that I have using natural treatment.

  3. Very good points, and my boss’s wife just chose chemo…. her first treatment was today! 😦

Leave a Reply

