Immy Chua

Just Being and Let things Happen….

What is your biggest challenge in Life so far?

4 Comments

We all love challenge! We challenge ourselves to be opened to risk, change and innovation….we also keep reminding ourselves that part of moving forward in life is to continue challenging ourselves and our abilities!

I love challenge….I see everything as a challenge not as a problem. I wouldn’t  say I have difficulties performing this or that, instead I would  say I have challenging tasks which excite me rather than stopping me from doing it.

I challenge myself to become a female star engineer and I did stand up among the males as people noticed me! Just imagine when you are the only Asian female electrical engineer siting in the construction site cabin attending the site meeting with a group of Caucasians engineers, builders, contractors, architects etc. They remember your name compare to other male engineers and they respect and pay attention to you! How great is that!

I challenge myself to set up and manage a joint venture company in Chongqing, China in 1998 before I turned 30 years old. I was the only foreigner in the company managing a toll bridge across the mighty Yangtze River. The Chinese were very sceptical about my abilities and asked why the Malaysian company sent a young lady over representing them. I told them in Chinese 不是猛龍不过江, translate in English is “Non-Ferocious Dragons Don’t Cross Oceans”! I was there for 3 years by myself! Lots of fighting and politicking ….eventually I became very very Chinese and made lots of great Chinese friends who I still keep in touch with.

I challenge myself backpacking alone to the Northern China during the coldest season, went to Beijing to scale the Great Wall then to Harbin visiting the Ice Festival in -25 deg C then took the local train to Changchun then took a bus to Jilin.

I challenge myself quitting my well paid job in China and migrated to Melbourne, Australia without a job and just studied my MBA, because I wanted to feel like being a student again!

I challenge myself learnt skiing when I was 40 years old from beginner to intermediate in 10 days in Squaw Valley, Lake Tahoe. The next year I went back and became advance skier! The experience was priceless….

I challenge myself climbing the highest peak Mt Kota Kinabalu in South East Asia last May.

Because I love challenges so much…then I had cancer….I thought cancer was the biggest challenge in my life…..NO…it wasn’t…..The biggest challenge in my life was ….surrender…surrender…and surrender…

I surrender myself of not to be 110% perfect.

I surrender myself of being ok if I couldn’t deliver my work related projects on time.

I surrender myself of being ok if I was rejected.

I surrender myself of letting go.

I surrender myself of just being myself.

I surrender myself to The Universe and let The Universe guide me everyday……the results are mind blowing…..just expereince the bliss of “Beingness” ( an insight from my Aunty Bee)……

So, what is my next challenge????? My next challenge is Not To Challenge myself…..

What about you?

Author: Immy Chua

A day after I turned 42, I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 4 bladder cancer….what a surprise birthday gift! 16 years ago on my birthday, my late brother was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away after 6 months of chemotherapy. My doctors told me they were unable to cure me….as my cancer is an aggressive type. The statistic with chemotherapy treatment is 45% in 5 years. I refused chemotherapy because of my brother. So, I asked if I don’t do anything, what would happen? My doctor told me….if I don’t do anything, after 3 months, my cancer will spread to every parts of my body. I told my doctor, 3 months, I still have plenty of time to find a solution. So..I rejected the death sentence and went searching for solution……..My cancer journey start ….. This blog is about my exciting cancer journey which helps me to discover and reassess my life, my relationship with my family, my so-called career goal, my diet, my view, my belief…..everything…..for the past 2 years… I wish it will help everyone to look at illness as a blessing and opportunity to heal rather than seeing yourself as a victim.

4 thoughts on “What is your biggest challenge in Life so far?

  1. My biggest challenge is to learn how to make a decision in a fast and accurate manner! I’ve lost so many opportunities by sitting by analyzing the opportunity cost. Why challenge yourself when you know that you (already) are (a part of) the Supreme Intelligence?

  2. My biggest challenge now is to go for my dreams in all areas of my life and not settle

Leave a Reply

