Immy Chua

Just Being and Let things Happen….

Coffee Enema…anyone?

3 Comments

What is Coffee Enema? An enema is “a fluid injected into the rectum for the purpose of clearing out the bowel, or of administering drugs or food.” The word itself comes from the Greek en-hienai, meaning to “send or inject into.” The enema has been called “one of the oldest medical procedures still in use today.” Tribal women in Africa, and elsewhere, routinely use it on their children. The earliest medical text in existence, the Egyptian Ebers Papyrus, (1,500 B.C.) mentions it. Millennia before, the Pharaoh had a “guardian of the anus,” a special doctor one of whose purposes was to administer the royal enema.

The Greeks wrote of the fabled cleanliness of the Egyptians, which included the internal cleansing of their systems through emetics and enemas. They employed these on three consecutive days every month said Herodotus (II.77) or at intervals of three or four days, according to the later historian Diodorus. The Egyptians explained to their visitors that they did this because they “believed that diseases were engendered by superfluities of the food”, a modern-sounding theory!

Enemas were known in ancient Sumeria, Babylonia, India, Greece and China. American Indians independently invented it, using a syringe made of an animal bladder and a hollow leg bone. Pre-Columbian South Americans fashioned latex into the first rubber enema bags and tubes. In fact, there is hardly a region of the world where people did not discover or adapt the enema.

In pre-revolutionary France a daily enema after dinner was de rigueur. It was not only considered indispensable for health but practiced for good complexion as well. Louis XIV is said to have taken over 2,000 in his lifetime. For centuries, enemas were a routine home remedy. Then, within living memory, the routine use of enemas died out. The main times that doctors employ them nowadays is before or after surgery and childbirth. Difficult and potentially dangerous barium enemas before colonic X rays are of course still a favorite of allopathic doctors.

The coffee enema is the most surprising and bizarre element of the Gerson Therapy. Without this simple tool of detoxification, the Gerson method wouldn’t work.

The moment a patient is put on the full therapy, the combined effect of the food, the juices and the medication causes the immune system to attack and kill tumor tissue, besides working to flush out accumulated toxins from the body tissues. All these great clearing-out procedure carries the risk of overburdening and poisoning the liver, which in a cancer patient is bound to be already damaged and debilitated. It was this recognition that prompted Dr. Max Gerson introduced them into cancer therapy in the 1930s.

But why coffee? In the 1920s German scientists found that a caffeine solution could open the bile ducts and stimulate the production of bile in the liver of experimental animals. Dr. Max Gerson used this clinically as part of a general detoxification regimen, first for tuberculosis, then cancer. Caffeine, he postulated, will travel up the hemorrhoidal to the portal vein and then to the liver itself. Gerson noted some remarkable effects of this procedure. For instance, patients could dispense with all pain-killers once on the enemas. Many people have noted the paradoxical calming effect of coffee enemas. And while coffee enemas can relieve constipation, Gerson cautioned:

“Patients have to know that the coffee enemas are not given for the function of the intestines but for the stimulation of the liver.”

It is important to realize while the patient is holding the coffee enema in his or her colon for the suggested 12 to 15 minutes, the body’s entire blood supply passes through the liver every 3 minutes (i.e. 4 to 5 times in all), carrying poisons picked up from the tissues. These are then released through the bile ducts due to the stimulation of the caffeine.

However, in order to leave the body, these toxins still have to travel through the small intestine ( 7m or 25 feet), through the colon (1.5m or 5 feet) and out via the rectum and the anus. Naturally, on this long trip, a small amount of the released toxins is reabsorbed into the system and can cause the patient discomfort, especially in the early stage of the therapy. So, when I first began the therapy, I have to take 4 enemas a day to keep up with the elimination process and also Castor Oil Enema (will take about it next time). After two years, I think I had took about 3000 enemas including Castor Oil enema. Now, I takes two enemas daily and one castor oil enema weekly. Coffee enema is now part of my life and I feel great after the enema.

In summary, Gerson Therapy used fresh food, juices and the medication causes the immune system to dissolve tumor tissue and flush out accumulated toxins from the body tissues. Coffee enema is to help the liver release the toxins. My earlier topic about detoxification shown the toxins released through my left arm and leg as my tumor was on my left bladder.

I hope now you know more about coffee enema and start appreciate its function rather than attack and ridicule it!

Coffee enema…anyone?

Love,

IMmy xx

Author: Immy Chua

A day after I turned 42, I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 4 bladder cancer….what a surprise birthday gift! 16 years ago on my birthday, my late brother was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away after 6 months of chemotherapy. My doctors told me they were unable to cure me….as my cancer is an aggressive type. The statistic with chemotherapy treatment is 45% in 5 years. I refused chemotherapy because of my brother. So, I asked if I don’t do anything, what would happen? My doctor told me….if I don’t do anything, after 3 months, my cancer will spread to every parts of my body. I told my doctor, 3 months, I still have plenty of time to find a solution. So..I rejected the death sentence and went searching for solution……..My cancer journey start ….. This blog is about my exciting cancer journey which helps me to discover and reassess my life, my relationship with my family, my so-called career goal, my diet, my view, my belief…..everything…..for the past 2 years… I wish it will help everyone to look at illness as a blessing and opportunity to heal rather than seeing yourself as a victim.

3 thoughts on “Coffee Enema…anyone?

  1. Pingback: What to expect after Detox! « Cancer is A Blessing and An Opportunity To Heal

  2. My Mum is practising gerson and has started the castor oil enema. She has Stage 4 Lung adenocarcinoma but her cancer has remained stable for over 12 months while on the Gerson Therapy. Her oncologist is very unsupportive and is pushing her to take more chemo becuase her last CT scan showed a slight increase in lymph nodes proximal to the tumor.She is passing flesh- like tissue and lots of mucous with the enemas and is experiencing the severe healing reaction symptoms. Did you experience this? Emotional roller coaster- she needs some reassurance that this can work!

    • sorry to hear about your mum. Yes, castor oil enema helped to eliminate toxin more compare to just coffee enema. Generally, if you had chemo, the Gerson practitioner would not administer castor oil enema as it is too much for the patient. I never had chemo so i did castor oil enema and it feels so good the next day, but the castor oil day is very ‘yucky’! imagine drinking the castor oil! The oncologist is never supportive on alternative treatment, my oncologist is the same, but since they told me they are unable to cure me and they are just monitoring my progress but never ask what I did with my treatment. Where is your mum did her Gerson? she should have a Gerson practitioner supporting her during her treatment. She needs lots of spiritual and emotional supports. As a carer it can be very challenging. You should the one of the Gerson book as it explains all about the treatment and what to expect! welcome to ask any questions and I am happy to share my experience! take care and all the best!

Leave a Reply

